one specific trade; similarly, students in grade 10 may take two shops. The Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Arts and Sciences and the Saskatchewan Technical Institute offer vocational courses only at both post-secondary and trades levels. The former has taken over the total responsibility for the nurses' (RN) diploma program, and in 1972 only one hospital school remained.

The University of Saskatchewan, at both the Regina and Saskatoon campuses, offers many degree programs.

Alberta. Education in Alberta is under constant review by the province's Commission on Educational Planning, charged with the broad task of predicting what Alberta society will be like educationally, socially and economically during the last decades of the 20th century. Innovations in recent years in the elementary-secondary level include: extensive experimentation in programs carried out at the local school level; the use of French as the language of instruction during 50% of the school day in grades 3-12 in certain schools; construction of modern buildings incorporating the latest design in instructional facilities; movement toward the semester system and other methods of dividing the school year; and implementation of school television projects. The province is organized into divisions for purposes of education and each division is administered by its own school board.

Kindergarten classes are not part of the provincial school system although some school boards, particularly those in the cities, do provide such classes. In addition, about 20% of five-year-old children are enrolled in privately operated nursery schools and kindergartens.

The two predominant patterns of school organization in Alberta are: elementary school (grades 1-6), junior high school (grades 7-9) and senior high school (grades 10-12); or elementary school (grades 1-8) and high school (grades 9-12). Alberta operates its secondary schools on the composite or comprehensive principle. Most of the wide range of vocational programs conducted are offered in grades 10-12. In grade 12, some of the vocational courses lead to the granting of 15-20 credits, of which 100 are required for an Alberta High School Diploma.

In the fall of 1971, a new Department of Advanced Education was formed, separate from the Department of Education. This Department is responsible for universities, public colleges, institutes of technology and the agricultural and vocational colleges formerly under the jurisdiction of the Department of Agriculture. The five public colleges, previously known as "junior" colleges, the two institutes of technology and the three agricultural and vocational colleges, all offering vocational programs at the post-secondary level, are now part of the community college system.

Programs at the first- or second-year university level are provided at three church-related institutions: Camrose Lutheran College, the bilingual Collège St. Jean and the Canadian Union College which also offers two-year terminal vocational studies in secretarial science. Nurses' (RN) diploma programs are at present given at both hospital schools and four community colleges: Lethbridge, Medicine Hat, Mount Royal and Red Deer.

One large university, the University of Alberta, offers a variety of courses including fine and applied arts, arts and sciences, medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing, household science, engineering and applied sciences, agriculture, library science, law and education. The province also has two other universities—the University of Calgary and the University of Lethbridge—and three small colleges.

British Columbia. Details of education programs in British Columbia are similar to those of the other provinces. Its central organization divides responsibility for curriculum, instruction, adult education, university and college affairs, research and standards, home economics, correspondence courses, school broadcasts, visual education, technical and vocational education, community programs, Jericho Hill School for the deaf and blind, and examinations.

British Columbia's former 13-year system of education, culminating in senior matriculation, is being replaced with a 12-year system but the senior matriculation year is still available in universities, in some of the regional colleges and in some high schools. The predominant pattern of school organization consists of elementary school (grades 1-6), junior high school (grades 7-9) and senior high school (grades 10-12). Five of the six programs offered in grades 11 and 12 are vocationally oriented — commercial, industrial, community services including home economics (not specifically labour-force-oriented), visual and